Getting bacon in the mail…a good reminder

The other day I got three packages in the mail. The box from my parents contained a bag of dried pears (originally picked from our pear trees) and a “thinking of you” card. Box number two was from my friend, Julie. Most notably it contained bacon-flavored chocolate, junior mints, OK Magazine, and notes and pictures from all my housemates back in Spokane. The final box was from my boyfriend, Ben. Its contents included candy pumpkins, a cool toy, real bacon bits, and a hand-written letter among other things.

While I have enjoyed engorging myself on snack foods these past few days, the best parts of the packages were the letters and cards telling me what everyone was up to. As I read through the notes, it occurred to me that, in all the hustle and bustle of the past few weeks, I have been failing in my duties toward my faithful blog readers. For this I apologize and offer to you the following account of the last few weeks.

Internship Mania…

As you may or may not know, I spent the majority of September waiting to hear back on whether or not my internship at the Ministerio de Vivienda would pan out…and unfortunately it never did. When it seemed like all hope was lost, I was presented with the opportunity to intern at a nonprofit called The Glorioso Dia Foundation. They are a dynamic organization that works with at-risk teenage guys ages 12-18. Glorioso Dia is composed of two houses, Casa Betel and Casa Genesis, which are home to eight boys each. Each of these boys comes from a different background, yet in living at Glorioso Dia they form one family.

As it is almost November, I have completed four weeks on-site. Originally, I was asked to help update their website, translate informational materials, and do grant research. While I continue to work on these projects, the education I am receiving reaches far beyond the bounds of internet research or web design. Though there have been frustrating times, I have been blessed enormously by the insane amount of love flowing through the organization. God is doing great things at Glorioso Dia, and it has been so awesome to be a part of His process.

Everything else in a nut shell…

Besides going to my internship on Fridays, I have been doing a lot of school work. This past week we finished two of our four courses of the semester (Latin American Culture and Civ. and Spanish Linguistics). It’s ironic that while everyone at Whitworth North is taking mid-terms, students at Whitworth South are taking finals.

Beginning this Monday (Nov. 1 holy moly!), we begin the long-awaited ecology course. This class will last for the first three weeks of November. During the second week of the course we are taking a trip to the Pacific coast of Costa Rica to see “biology in action” so to say. If we happen to do a bit of beach-bummin’ along the way, can you blame us? Needless to say, we are all very excited for this course.

On a completely unrelated note, today I encountered the biggest live spider I have ever seen in my ENTIRE LIFE. It looked like something akin to a tarantula, but it was a teeny bit smaller and somewhat less hairy. I found her/him crawling around in the kitchen after I finished dinner. After I emerged from the initial fear/shock I yelled for my younger brother to come to the kitchen. I stood on top of a chair while he fought the beast with his sandal. It was an intense battle, but my brother was victorious. I was told that the spider was very venomous…hopefully s/he doesn’t have any other family in the area.

The adventure continues folks. Thank you for your continued prayers!  Also, I bought a hammock…pretty cool.

Until next time…

One response to “Getting bacon in the mail…a good reminder

  1. Wow, that spider sounds super scary!! Glad it got taken care of for you. A hammock, huh? Awesome! Can’t wait to try it out! =) We definitely gotta Skype soon…I wanna hear all about the Pacific Coast trip. I love you and miss you so much!!!

Leave a Reply

